Peak 11

New Mills School & Sixth Form is part of the Peak 11 Federation which brings together eleven secondary schools in the High Peak and Derbyshire Dales with the aim of improving educational opportunities for the young people of the area.

Founded in 2004, the group builds on previous collaborative work, and has continued to evolve to meet the ever changing demands of the educational system. The schools serve the largely rural area within and around the Peak District National Park, an area of small market and old mill towns with, in many areas, a scattered population. Seven of the schools are 11-18, four are 11-16, two are faith schools and three are now academies. The most northerly and southerly schools are some 40 miles apart.

Despite the diversity across the schools, or maybe because of it, Peak 11 has never been stronger. The federation, which started life focussed on providing collaborative vocational education across the area, now supports leaders at all levels in its schools with opportunities to share good practice, receive peer support and engage in constructive challenge on a wide range of issues. In the last year over 150 school staff have been involved directly in Peak 11 working groups and, we hope, will have taken ideas and inspiration back into their schools.

With the educational landscape currently changing more quickly than ever Peak 11 continues to look to the future and to its role in supporting systems leadership across this area of rural Derbyshire.

If you would like to find out more about the work of PEAK 11 please click the link below.


Name of schoolLocationWebsite
Anthony Gell School Wirksworth
Buxton Community School Buxton
Chapel-en-le-Frith High School Chapel en-le- Frith
Glossopdale Community College Glossop
Highfields School Matlock
Hope Valley College Hope
Lady Manners School Bakewell
New Mills School & Sixth Form New Mills
Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School Ashbourne
St Philip Howard Catholic Academy Glossop
St Thomas More Catholic School Buxton