Exam Information

Examination Timetables

Summer Exam Timetable 2022

Examination Entry

The school's policy is based upon the recognition that for the vast majority of students the acquisition of a certificate of performance is an important part of their educational objectives.

Students will always be entered for examinations if staff feel that they have worked and performed to a level commensurate with their abilities. Parents will always be consulted if it is felt wiser, for whatever reason, not to enter a student. In rare circumstances, students may be asked to pay for their exam entrance fee in advance of the exam (if, for instance, there is real concern that they may not turn up for the exam); fees will be paid back to the student upon completion of that exam.

Important Information for Candidates:

Candidate Exam Handbook
No unauthorised items
Warning to Candidates
Written Exams
Non-Examination Assessments
Onscreen Tests
Social Media
Privacy Notice

Parent Information - Changes to GCSE grades from 2017

As you are probably aware the government has announced radical changes to the structure and assessment of GCSEs. We are moving away from the familiar system of A*-G grades to a new system of grading with numbers. In addition to the changes to the structure of the GCSEs, the government is also raising the expectation of the standard of GCSE that will be considered as ‘strong pass’ from a C to a new grade 5.

What do the new numbers mean?

Because the content in the new GCSEs is so different there is no simple and direct way to convert between the old GCSE A*-G grades and the new number grades. However, to ensure that the new system is fair to those students taking the new exams the government has fixed the percentages of students gaining particular grades against the old system. So for example the same proportion of students that gained an ‘A’ and above in the old GCSEs will now gain a grade 7 and above in the new GCSEs. However, this does not mean that a grade 7 is equal to an A grade as the content is so different.

What is considered a ‘good’ pass?

To align the UK with the best education systems in the world the government has raised expectations of achievement and will now consider a ‘good pass’ at GCSE to be a grade 5. It was announced in March 2017 that a grade 4 will be considered as a 'standard pass'. You will see from the OFQUAL leaflet below that this means a similar percentage of students will gain a standard pass (grade 4) as gained a C or above in the past. A smaller proportion will gain a good pass (grade 5) or above.


For further information on the new grades please click the following link

Which subjects are affected?

Due to the number of different GCSEs that are being updated, not all subjects will be moving to the new 1-9 system at the same time. Students in Year 11 may have a mix of letter and number grades when they receive their targets this year. Any student in Year 10 or below will take the "new" GCSE's so their targets are numbers. This is the same nationally and your child will not be disadvantaged in any way by this. For further information on the timeline of changes please click the following link.

Awarding for new GCSE Cohorts
Grading new GCSEs

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact Mrs Jesson, for Student Outcomes, at cjesson@newmillsschool.co.uk